OPANAL



Agency for the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons in Latin America and the Caribbean

General Conference

XXVII Session 30 September 2021 Agenda Item 18 CG/18/2021.Corr2

Original: English/Spanish

Report on the Election of Two Members of the Council

- 1. Article 10, paragraphs 1 and 2, of the Treaty for the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons in Latin America and the Caribbean provides that:
 - 1. The Council shall be composed of five Members of the Agency elected by the General Conference from among the Contracting Parties, due account being taken of equitable geographic distribution.
 - 2. The Members of the Council shall be elected for a term of four years. However, in the first election three will be elected for two years. Outgoing Members may not be re- elected for the following period unless the limited number of States for which the Treaty is in force so requires.
- On the 31 of December, 2021, Argentina and Uruguay who were elected for the period 2018-2021 by the General Conference through Resolution CG/E/Res.01/2017 (XXV Special Session held on September 28, 2017) will conclude their term as Members of the Council.
- 3. Belize, Honduras and Nicaragua will remain members of the Council until 31 December 2023 in accordance with Resolution CG/Res.02/2019 (XXVI Ordinary Session, held on 7th November, 2019).
- 4. Therefore, the General Conference shall elect two new Members of the Council for the period 2022-2025 at its XXVII Ordinary Session (30 September, 2021).

- 5. On the 13 of October 2020, the Secretariat received Note 93/EMX/N3/OPANAL/2020 by which the Government of Guatemala informed its intention to apply for a position on the Council.
- 6. On the 10 of August 2021, the Secretariat received Note No.021 from the Embassy of the Federative Republic of Brazil, through which the candidacy of that country was proposed for any of the vacancies of the Council.
- 7. The Briefing on the participation of the Member States in the composition of the Council is attached.
- 8. The Secretary-General proposes the draft resolution "Election of Members of the Council" (Document CG//L.14/2021).

ANNEX

Member States	Years in which they have been Members of the Council	Number of periods
Antigua and Barbuda	-	
Argentina	1996-1999, 2006-2009, 2012-2015, 2018-2021	4
Bahamas	-	
Barbados	-	
Belize	1996-1999, 2020-2023	2
Bolivia	1991-1995, 2008-2011	2
Brazil	2000-2003, 2008-2011, 2016-2019	3
Chile	1996-1999, 2002-2005, 2008-2011	3
Colombia	1979-1983, 1987-1991, 1994-1997	3
Costa Rica	1969-1973, 1975-1979, 1985-1989, 2000-2003, 2010-2013	5
Cuba	2004-2007	1
Dominica	-	
Ecuador	1969-1971, 1975-1979, 1983-1987, 1991-1995, 2002-2005, 2012- 2015	6
El Salvador	-	
Grenada	-	
Guatemala	2004-2007, 2010-2013, 2016-2019	3
Guyana		
Haiti	1969-1971	1
Honduras	1979-1983, 2020-2023	2
Jamaica	1971-1975, 1977-1981, 1983-1987, 1989-1993	4
Mexico	1969-1973, 1975-1979, 1981-1985, 1987-1991, 1994-1997, 2000-	8
	2003, 2006-2009, 2014-2017	
Nicaragua	1973-1977, 2020-2023	2
Panama	1973-1977, 1998-2001	2
Paraguay	2014-2017	1
Peru	1971-1975, 1981-1985, 1987-1991, 1998-2001, 2004-2007, 2016-	6
	2019	
Dominican Republic	-	
Saint Christopher and	-	
Nevis		
Saint Vincent and the	-	
Grenadines		
Saint Lucia	-	
Suriname	-	
Trinidad and Tobago	-	
Uruguay	1969-1971, 1979-1983, 1985-1989, 1991-1995, 2018-2021	5
Venezuela	1971-1975, 1977-1981, 1983-1987, 1989-1993, 2012-2015	5