



Agency for the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons in Latin America and the Caribbean

General Conference

XXVI Session
7 November 2019
Agenda Item 16

CG/18/2019

Original: English/Spanish

Election of Member States of the CCAAP Period 2020-2023

The Financial Regulations¹, establish in Article 4: "That the CCAAP will be composed of five Member States, elected by the General Conference, for a period of four years renewable."

Additionally, according to Article 5 of the Financial Regulations: "The Secretary-General will inform the General Conference of the Member States that have expressed interest in integrating the CCAAP. The General Conference will elect the Member States of the CCAAP by simple majority of the Member States in attendance..."

The General Conference will elect the Member States of the CCAAP by simple majority of the Member States in attendance.

Currently the Member States of the Committee on Contributions and Administrative and Budgetary Matters – CCAAP, are the following:

Member States of the CCAAP (01/01/2016 to 31/12/2019)
Chile (2 nd Period)
Ecuador (1st Period)
Jamaica (1st Period)
Mexico (2 nd Period)
Bolivia (2 nd Period)

.

¹ Inf.01/2019

By Resolution CG/Res.10/2015 of the General Conference, on 26 November 2015, Ecuador and Jamaica were elected as Members of the Committee on Contributions and Administrative and Budgetary Matters (CCAAP) for a 4 years period from 1st January 2016 and Bolivia, Chile and Mexico were reelected for a 4 years period from 1st January 2016. The five Member States of the CCAAP will complete their term on 31 December 2019.

At the 141st Meeting of the CCAAP on 25 June 2019, the invitation to the Member States of OPANAL was reiterated to present their application to be part of the Committee for the period 2020-2023 and the document CCAAP/18/2019 "Election of Members of the Committee on Contributions and Administrative and Budgetary Matters (CCAAP)" was delivered.

On 4 September 2019, the Secretariat sent Note S-526/2019 in Spanish and Note S-539/2019 in English, to all Member States requesting them to inform on their willingness to apply for membership of the CCAAP for the period 2020-2023.

To date, the following applications have been received: Argentina, Belize, Brazil, Ecuador and Uruguay.