OPANAL



Agency for the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons in Latin America and the Caribbean (OPANAL)

General Conference

XXVI Session 7 November 2019 Agenda Item 15 CG/05/2019Rev.

Original: Spanish/English

Report on the election of three Council Members

- 1. The Treaty for the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons in Latin America and the Caribbean establishes in Article 10, paragraphs 1 and 2 that:
 - 1. The Council shall be composed of five Members of the Agency elected by the General Conference from among the Contracting Parties, due account being taken of equitable geographical distribution.
 - 2. The Members of the Council shall be elected for a term of four years. [...] Outgoing Members may not be re-elected for the following period unless the limited number of States for which the Treaty is in force so requires.
- On 31 December 2019, Brazil, Guatemala and Peru will conclude their term as Members
 of the Council. They were elected for the period covering 2016-2019 by the General
 Conference through Resolution CG/Res.09/2015 (XXIV Regular Session held on 26
 November 2015).
- 3. Uruguay and Argentina will remain as Members of the Council until 31 December 2021 pursuant to Resolution CG/E/Res.01/2017 (XXV Special Session, held on 28 September 2017).
- 4. Therefore, the General Conference must elect three new Council Members for the period covering 2020-2023 at its XXVI Special Session (7 November 2019).
- 5. On 3 September 2019, the Secretariat sent notes S-524/2019 and S-525/2019 in which it invited Member States to present candidacies to the Council.

- 6. The Briefing on the participation of the Member States in the composition of the Council is attached.
- 7. The Secretary-General proposes the draft Resolution "Election of Council Members" (Document CG/E/L.02/2019).

ANNEX

Member States	Years being Members of the Council	Number of periods
Antigua and Barbuda	-	
Argentina	1996-1999, 2006-2009, 2012-2015	3
Bahamas	-	
Barbados	-	
Belize	1996-1999	1
Bolivia	1991-1995, 2008-2011	2
Brasil	2000-2003, 2008-2011, 2016-2019	3
Chile	1996-1999, 2002-2005, 2008-2011	3
Colombia	1979-1983, 1987-1991, 1994-1997	3
Costa Rica	1969-1973, 1975-1979, 1985-1989, 2000-2003,	5
	2010-2013	
Cuba	2004-2007	1
Dominica	-	
Ecuador	1969-1971, 1975-1979, 1983-1987, 1991-1995,	6
	2002-2005, 2012-2015	
El Salvador	-	
Grenada	-	
Guatemala	2004-2007, 2010-2013, 2016-2019	3
Guyana		
Haití	1969-1971	1
Honduras	1979-1983	1
Jamaica	1971-1975, 1977-1981, 1983-1987, 1989-1993	4
México	1969-1973, 1975-1979, 1981-1985, 1987-1991,	8
	1994-1997, 2000-2003, 2006-2009, 2014-2017	
Nicaragua	1973-1977	1
Panamá	1973-1977, 1998-2001	2
Paraguay	2014-2017	1
Perú	1971-1975, 1981-1985, 1987-1991, 1998-2001,	6
	2004-2007, 2016-2019	
República Dominicana	-	
Saint Christopher and	-	
Nevis		
Saint Vincent and the	-	
Grenadines		
Saint Lucia	-	
Suriname	-	
Trinidad and Tobago	-	
Uruguay	1969-1971, 1979-1983, 1985-1989, 1991-1995	4
Venezuela	1971-1975, 1977-1981, 1983-1987, 1989-1993, 2012-2015	5