



AGENCY FOR THE PROHIBITION OF NUCLEAR WEAPONS IN LATIN AMERICA AND THE CARIBBEAN

S/BP/53

PRESS RELEASE

- Latin American and Caribbean States commemorate the 46th Anniversary of the Treaty of Tlatelolco
- They acknowledge the Treaty's contribution to regional peace and security, and work together for a nuclear-weapon-free world

Mexico City, 14 February 2013. Signed in 1967, the Treaty for the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons in Latin America and the Caribbean, also known as Treaty of Tlatelolco, continues to be recognised by its States Parties for its importance in the consolidation of regional peace and security. Through this Treaty, the world saw the birth of the first Nuclear-Weapon-Free Zone in a densely populated area; since then, it became a political/legal reference for the establishment of similar zones. There are currently five NWFZs, a total of 114 States, representing altogether an invaluable contribution to global peace and security and concrete steps towards achieving the ultimate goal of the Treaty of Tlatelolco: a nuclear-weapon-free world.

With the signing of the Additional Protocols to the Treaty of Tlatelolco, Nuclear Weapon States (China, the United States of America, France, Russia and the United Kingdom) undertook "not to use or threaten to use nuclear weapons" against States Parties to the Treaty. This was an outstanding achievement since the Cold War was at its peak and the Missile Crisis in 1962 had just occurred; when the world's two superpowers, the United States of America and the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics, brought the region to the brink of nuclear disaster. Through this Treaty, the Latin American and Caribbean States prevented the recurrence of such dangerous confrontations; at the same time they undertook to prohibit the manufacture, production or acquisition of nuclear weapons in their territories; what today is known as the non-proliferation regime.

The region is actively working towards the achievement of the objectives of the Treaty of Tlatelolco, especially regarding the consolidation of negative security guarantees not to use or threaten to use nuclear weapons in order to move forward towards a nuclear-weapon-free world. An example of it is the recent Summit of the Community of Latin American and Caribbean States (CELAC), held in Santiago, Chile, on 27-28 January, in which CELAC Heads of State call on nuclear powers to withdraw the Reservations or Interpretative Declarations made to Additional Protocols to the Treaty of Tlatelolco; and to respect the denuclearized status of the region. The leaders also emphasized the commitment to participate actively and share a common position at the High Level Meeting of the United Nations General Assembly on Nuclear Disarmament, to be held in New York City, on 26 September 2013.

There are currently five NWFZs established in densely populated areas: Latin America and the Caribbean (Treaty of Tlatelolco, 1967); South Pacific (Treaty of Rarotonga, 1985); Southeast Asia (Treaty of Bangkok, 1995); Africa (Treaty of Pelindaba, 1996); and Central Asia (Treaty of Semipalatinsk, 2006).

The 33 Latin American and Caribbean States are Members of the Agency for the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons in Latin America and the Caribbean (OPANAL), which was created in 1969 in order to safeguard the objectives of the Treaty of Tlatelolco once it entered into force. OPANAL has its headquarters in Mexico City.